COMMITMENT TO DAILY DISCIPLINES

29 03 2010

I’ve come to realize that I have not done a great job of updating this blog on a regular basis. One of the things that I have come to realize over the past few weeks is that success in any venture is a matter of committing to a few daily disciplines:

  • Adding new names to my contact list
  • Contacting a few people to pique interest with them
  • Seeing the people, showing them the plan
  • Listening to training podcasts and CDs
  • Reading personal development material (books, Success magazine, blogs)
  • Writing this blog

Daily disciplines are all about making new routines. Getting into a groove. I begin each day by reading the Bible for a few minutes and journaling. That has become a routine that I have not missed in weeks. I’m now making a decision to end my days by updating this blog about my day. That’s the only way to truly chronicle my journey to RVP.

Today my youngest daughter had the day off from school (Furlough Day for teachers). It was also the end of her Spring Break. And so I took time to take her (and my oldest daughter) to the movies. I followed up to confirm a meeting for tomorrow and we just had our weekly Remedy team conference call. But other than that? It wasn’t a super-productive day.

I can’t afford to have too many days like today. But every once in awhile? It’s nice to be able to take time out to spend the day goofing off with the people you love. It’s easy to let one day like today, turn into two. Two become three and then before you know it, a week has passed. Weeks can turn into months, months turn into seasons and seasons become years. Before you know it? Decades can escape you. The days fall like dominos.

It takes a conscious decision to  stop the falling dominos. It’s back to work tomorrow.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

