MY ONLY VICE

5 04 2010

I’m a changed man.

Over the years, I’ve indulged in my share of vices. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve let go of them all one by one. I don’t smoke. I don’t do drugs. I don’t drink to excess. I don’t chase women.

There’s just one left…

BASEBALL!

I jones for it in a terrible way. And I have no desire to ever give it up. My ideal vacation is spending the month of March in Arizona and/or Florida watching Spring Training.

I play in an 18-team 5×5 Roto League (that I’m going to win this year by the way). Our Draft was this past Friday and I’ll admit that I’ve been consumed the past week or so. Today was Opening Day and I was glued to the TV watching my Dodgers drop the season opener to the Bucs.

For years I’ve subscribed to the MLB Extra Innings package and I would sit and just jump from game to game, night after night. But not this year. This year I’m on the road to RVP. So I gave up my Extra Innings package. I also gave up the MLB Network. I did so by giving up DirecTV…I switched to DISH Network.

Ugh, I’ve dreaded doing this for a year. I HATE DISH Network. I’ve been a DirecTV customer for 8 years. But I need the customer points, so I switched.  There are seven games scheduled tomorrow. Only one of them (Angels-Twins) will be on TV locally. BLECH.

I suppose the bright side is that there’s nothing to do but make phone calls and work. I’ve promised myself that when I go RVP, I’ll reward myself and go back to DirecTV so I can once again bathe in a pool of my favorite vice in 2011.

Time to go to bed now though

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

