MONEY DOESN’T CHANGE YOU

19 04 2010

A long time ago, I heard:

“Money doesn’t change you, it just magnifies who you already are in the first place.”

I had an epiphany yesterday. I’ve done alright in life, but it’s been awhile since I was “ahead of the game.” I’ve had my share of “daily bread,” but it’s been awhile since I have felt the blessing of God shower upon me.

And that’s when it hit me. Money amplifies who you are in the first place. Truthfully? If I had to look at the man that I have been over the past few years, I wouldn’t want that man magnified.

Change is hard. But the banner above says it all: “If you want life to change, YOU have to change.” For the first time in a long time though, I’m not at a crossroads where I need to start all over again. I’ve changed. I’ve adopted disciplines and routines that are positive and advantageous. I realize that though, that there are new disciplines to incorporate into my life.

I’ve been a very selfish, self-absorbed man. God has given me a gift thru ACN. I get paid to be professional relationship builder. That’s what a networker really is after all…a relationship builder. It’s perfectly suited for my temperament. People are attracted to “what’s in it for me.” I know this, but I’ve neglected it. I need to invest myself IN people. I need to take more time to find out ABOUT people and what I can do FOR them.

In this business of networking, we need to find out:

  • what troubles people?
  • what keeps them up at night?
  • what their life is like right now?
  • what are their living circumstances like?
  • what’s missing from life?
  • if they could change any part of their life in the next six months, what would that be?

And then we need to give a damn enough to find opportunities to fill those needs.

Sometimes ACN is the answer. Sometimes it’s not. Sometimes people need a friend to talk to. We can be that person to listen to them. More people are lonely than care to admit it.

Sometimes people need supernatural intervention. We can be that person who offers to pray with and for them. When was the last time you asked someone if you could pray for them? When was the last time that someone offered to pray for you?

The world needs more relationship builders. We need more people who will listen and invest themselves in the lives of others. We need more people who are willing to make themselves vulnerable to ask how we can best pray for others.

That’s the type of man that deserves to be magnified.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

